Home » About » Who We Are » Leadership » Consultative Groups » Finance Council

Finance Council

Canon 492 of the 1983 Code of Canon Law requires the bishop to establish a diocesan finance council and to appoint a minimum of three members to the council who are knowledgeable in financial and business matters. The Code provides for a structure which is charged with providing the bishop with technical guidance and advice on the prudent handling of fiscal matters. The two main groups of tasks on which the diocesan finance council provides advice and counsel to the bishop deal with ordinary administration (i.e., development of the annual budget, and the regular review of and compliance with it) and with extraordinary administration (i.e., major one-time financial transactions, such as construction projects, purchase or sale of property).

In the Diocese of Manchester, the diocesan Finance Council consists of members with varying and diverse expertise in financial, legal and real estate matters. The Council meets at least four regularly scheduled times during the year. In addition, each member sits on one of four standing committees (Budget, Investment, Real Estate, and Fundraising) which also hold regularly scheduled meetings throughout the year and report back on their activities to the entire Council. The bishop may request that the Council meet in special session or by teleconference to review and provide advice on matters of ordinary or extraordinary administration. The current members, their parish affiliation, and their committee assignment can be found below.

Diocesan Finance Council Members

Most Rev. Peter A. Libasci, D.D., chair

Anthony Annino

Deacon Paul Boucher
St. Mary Parish, Claremont

Frederick Briggs, Jr.

Stacy Clark

Rev. Michael E. Gendron
St. Peter Parish, Auburn

Eva L. Martel
Parish of the Transfiguration

Thomas F. Parks
Parish of the Assumption, Dover

Michael A. Richards
St. Christopher Parish, Nashua

Ronald J. Rioux
St. Michael Parish, Exeter


Mac Bryant
Finance Officer/Cabinet Secretary for Temporalities

Christine Bogacz
Director of Parish and School Financial Services

David Gabert
Director of Cemetery Operations

Patricia M. Goneau

Tom Cosgriff
Diocesan Internal Auditor

Diocesan Real Estate and Capital Projects Committee (DRECPC)

The DRECPC is a sub-committee of the Diocesan Finance Council. This committee is an advisory committee to the bishop in regards to capital projects costing in excess of $100,000. The panel of experts will review the capital improvement plans, financing, bids, and contracts involving the diocese, parishes, schools, and cemeteries and provide recommendations to the bishop. The DRECPC meets on the third Tuesday of each month to review available projects.

DRECPC Members

Stacy Clark, Chair

Raymond Clement

Jack Doherty

Frank Fraitzl

Raymond Hebert

Very Rev. Jason Y. Jalbert, Pastor -  St. Joseph Cathedral, Manchester

Marc Jobin

Rev. A. Stephen Marcoux, Pastor - Sacred Heart Parish, Manchester


Robert Eib, Director of Real Estate

Investment and Loan Committee

The Investment and Loan Committee (committee) is a sub-committee of the Finance Council. The committee serves as an advisor to the bishop. Its primary purposes include:

  1. to monitor the Investment and Loan Policy of the Diocese of Manchester, including the oversight of investment managers, asset allocation goals, and other investment policies and procedures of the diocese;
  2. annually, to recommend deposit and loan interest rates for Central Fund activity; and
  3. to review and recommend approval of Central Fund loans to parishes, schools, and cemeteries in excess of a pre-determined dollar amount.

Investment and Loan Committee Members

Anthony Annino

Matthew Gaffney

Steven R. McManis
Christ the King Parish, Concord

Thomas F. Parks
Parish of the Assumption, Dover


Mac Bryant
Finance Officer/Cabinet Secretary for Temporalities

Patricia M. Goneau