Home » About » Stay Informed » Media Releases » Catholic Schools Honor Nine at Recognizing Excellence Gala

Catholic Schools Honor Nine at Recognizing Excellence Gala

June 26, 2019

Catholic Schools Honor Nine at Recognizing Excellence Gala

(MANCHESTER, NH) The Most Reverend Peter A. Libasci, Bishop of Manchester, and Mr. David Thibault, Superintendent of Schools, named the NH Catholic School Teacher of the Year and honored eight other award recipients at the annual Recognizing Excellence Gala, held at the Grappone Center in Concord on Thursday, June 20. The event, now in its third year, celebrates the selfless acts of individuals who advance the mission of Catholic education in New Hampshire.

Mr. Thibault said of all those honored, “The successes of our Catholic schools would not be possible without the commitment of our educators, administrators, clergy, and lay partners in the community. Their selfless support is what allows our students to shine brighter. We are truly blessed to have such dedicated partners in our effort to make Catholic education accessible, available, and affordable to any child that desires it.”

The 2019 Catholic School Teacher of the Year is Ms. Ann Jones, from Saint Francis of Assisi School in Litchfield, NH. Jones was one of three finalists for Teacher of the Year. The others were Michael Slavin, a math teacher at Saint Thomas Aquinas High School in Dover, and Barbara Pinsonneault, a literature teacher at Nashua Catholic Regional Junior High School.

The full listing of the evening’s honorees is:

  • Saint John Baptiste de la Salle Teacher of the Year: Ann Jones, Saint Francis of Assisi School, Litchfield.
  • Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton School Leader of the Year: Sister Maria Rosa, pm, Principal at Presentation of Mary Academy, Hudson.
  • Saint John Vianney Cleric of the Year: Fr. David Harris, Pastor at Saint Christopher Parish and School, Nashua.
  • Saint Katharine Drexel Community Partner of the Year: Zach and Chris Colby of J.C.B. Colby, Inc., Lunenburg, VT.
  • Superintendent’s Award: Roxanne Raeside Wilton, Headmaster at John Paul II Academy, Claremont.
  • Superintendent’s Award: Kevin Collins, Principal at Saint Thomas Aquinas High School, Dover.
  • Superintendent’s Award: Gene Bryant, Knights of Columbus & Saint Joseph Regional Catholic School Board Member, Salem.
  • Superintendent’s Award: Denis Mailloux, principal at Saint Joseph Regional Junior High School, Manchester.

For more information about Catholic schools in the Diocese of Manchester, please visit www.catholicschoolsnh.org.


PHOTO CUTLINE: (L to R), Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Ann Jones, Saint Francis of Assisi School, Litchfield, with David A. Thibault, Superintendent of Catholic Schools for the Diocese of Manchester (ANNIE WADE photo)

# # #

The Diocese of Manchester is the Roman Catholic Church in New Hampshire, serving the needs of nearly 235,000 Catholics. For more information, please visit www.catholicnh.org/overview.