I am Looking For:

Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross are a series of pictures or images that represent certain scenes in the Passion of Christ. The Stations are usually made of stone, wood, or metal, sculptured or carved, or they may be paintings or engravings. They are usually arranged in numerical order around the walls of a church, though sometimes they can be found outdoors at a shrine. Although the erection and use of the Stations came in general use just at the end of the seventeenth century, they are now to be found in almost every church or chapel. The number of stations has varied throughout their history but fourteen are now the norm.

The Stations are meant to help people to make in spirit, as it were, a pilgrimage to the chief scenes of Christ's sufferings and death, and this has become one of the most popular of Catholic devotions in the season of Lent. It is carried out by passing from Station to Station, with certain prayers at each and a meditation on Jesus’ deep love for humanity.

The origin of the devotion may be traced to the Holy Land where Jesus experienced His passion, death and resurrection. In Jerusalem these important sites were reverently marked out from the earliest times and became an important destination for pilgrims ever since the days of Constantine. A desire to reproduce the holy places in other lands, for those who were unable to make the actual pilgrimage, seems to have manifested itself at quite an early date.

In conclusion it may be safely said that the Stations of the Cross is one of the richest devotions which enables us to more literally obey Christ's command to take up our cross and follow Him.

Stations of the Cross

Our virtual Stations of the Cross complements your other Lenten practices and offers the homebound an opportunity to pray the Stations. Follow the links below to watch a video for each station. The images are from Stations found throughout the Diocese of Manchester. Join Bishop Libasci as he leads us through these Stations.

Station 1

Jesus is Condemned to Death

Station 2

Jesus Carries His Cross

Station 3

Jesus Falls the First Time

Station 4

Jesus Meets His
Afflicted Mother

Station 5

Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus
Carry His Cross

Station 6

Veronica Wipes the
Face of Jesus

Station 7

Jesus Falls the
Second Time

Station 8

Jesus Speaks to the Women
of Jerusalem

Station 9

Jesus Falls for the Third Time

Station 10

Jesus is Stripped
of His Garments

Station 11

Jesus is Nailed to the Cross

Station 12

Jesus Dies on the Cross

Station 13

Jesus' Body is
Taken Down from the Cross

Station 14

The Body of Jesus is
Entombed in the Holy Sepulcher


Resources for Parents and Catechists

  • The Passionist Fathers site offers a downloadable version for children with very simple, beautiful "heart prayers" for children. A parent and/or catechist could use these with the children. The site is www.cptryon.org/prayer/child/stations
  • Twenty-third Publications offers four books:

    "Praying the Stations with Children" by Gwen Costello
    "Praying the Stations with Teenagers" by Gwen Costello
    "Praying the Stations with Mary, the Mother of Jesus" by Richard Furey.
    "Praying the Stations with Pope John Paul II"

    The site is www.pastoralplanning.com.
  • Paulist Press offers "Child's Guide to the Stations of the Cross" by Sue Stanton for ages 5-9. The site is www.paulistpress.com

Diocese of Manchester
The Catholic Church in New Hampshire

153 Ash Street, Box 310
Manchester, NH 03105-0310
(603) 669-3100
Fax: (603) 669-0377

© Diocese of Manchester